Classic Apple Pie – Stars in the galaxy!

The aroma of the butter filled the home and everyone guessed that something is into the oven…The whiff of the carameled apples kept the eyes closed for long while sensing the pure delight. And the mind realized – Mom is in the action!

b6ee0a3397d9db3d81ccd27f3ebe2449

Image cc: Google

We, the kids, jumped up with joy as today’s evening snack is going to be something amazingly delicious – we got up from the bed, after a long afternoon sleep post school, and ran to the kitchen…The magical aroma was ruling our minds and the hunger pangs were simply going impatient —- Yes Mum was there standing right next to the oven while arranging the tea and the plates… I hugged her from behind and my little brother, with a big smile, asked – Mom…you are baking apple pie na? πŸ˜€

Mum said YES.. and I woke up! πŸ™‚

mothers-day-mother-and-child-backgrounds-powerpoint

Image cc: PPTBack

It was a DREAM… a beautiful dream which I always want to live… It keeps me closer to my mom, my angel, whom I lost 10 years ago…10 Long years…when lives have changed completely…everyone has moved on…new members are introduced in the family etc etc however one beautiful precious memory is still young at one silent corner of the heart…and that memory is of you Ma. Every thing takes a back foot when I think about you… I miss our conversations, I miss our fights, I miss our hang outs..our morning walks…our trips to Shilp melas…our kitchen recipes…our summer vacations…You were, are and will be my bestest friend…No one on this galaxy can take your place Ma…What do you think – that I have forgotten everything and moved on? Yeah I moved on…but along with you by your side… No matter wherever you are in this galaxy, I know just one thing…that you are always with me…guiding me…inspiring me…keeping me motivated…and making me come out with flying colors…I am your reflection Ma and trust me, I have kept you alive in the lives of all your precious relations…. You are a prayer whom I recite daily…You are a song which I sing daily…You are that pretty morning wind which wakes me up and that silent moment which makes me fall asleep.. You are everywhere around me and I feel you every time..every where…every moment!

HD-Stars-In-Space-Background

Image cc: backgroundmachine

This Mother’s day, I dedicate this beautiful and scrumptious Apple Pie to you Mom… This pie truly reflects your choice of ingredients and your imaginations of reaching out to Β the stars… These tiny beautiful stars are specially for you thus telling the World that you are the most pretty and shining star of the Galaxy…today and always! πŸ™‚

IMG_20170509_094110

Thought of making this recipe for Mother’s day came when I recalled how my mum used to roast her apple before eating…she was asthamatic and was really scared of having fruits etc raw…thus to keep her heart convinced that whatever shez eating will not harm her, she used to come up with her own thought of consuming fruits etc…Apples were normally roasted and then with little black pepper and salt she used to eat them. I couldn’t eat apple like she loved but obviously I can tweak it out a little and come up with advanced version – So hereby presenting my authentic Apple Pie… πŸ™‚

IMG_20170509_094122

Serves: 4

Baking time: 25 mins

Cooking time: 10 mins

Ingredients

For the crust

  • 2 cups All purpose flour
  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 cup grounded sugar
  • 2 tbsp ice cold water

For the Apple filling

  • 6 fresh apples – chopped finely
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon powder
  • 1 tsp Nutmeg powder
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • Mint leaves

IMG_20170508_234323

Method

First let’s knead the pie dough and let it rest. Till the time it will be ready to use, we will be done with all our preparations.

For Pies: Take all purpose flour in a bowl and add sugar. Mix well. Now add diced butter and mix it well using your fingers. Don’t use any spoon or ladle to mix. Do it with fingers as it will make sure that every bit of flour has a buttery flavor to it. After 5-1o mins, you will start noticing crumbled texture of the flour. Dip your fingers in cold water and keep mixing it lightly. Once the dough is kneaded, it will be rough crumbled dough, cover it in a cling film and let it rest in fridge for 30 mins.

Take it out post 30 mins and Roll it out. Arrange it on the tart tin. Make sure you press the corners with thumb to make it stick in perfect shape. On the base, make impressions with fork. This will make sure that the dough will not rise during baking. Now, spread kidney beans or chana over the top and bake well till 12 mins at 150 degrees.

IMG_20170508_235337_005

Once you will see light golden color of the base, tarts are ready. Do not un-mould them.

IMG_20170508_235345_090

For the apple filling

Put all the stuff (except lemon juice and mint) in a pan and keep stirring it lightly. Once the apples get moist and caramel comes out of the pan due to sugar, switch off the gas.

Now add lemon juice and mint leaves. Mix well. Taste it and adjust the spices.

IMG_20170508_234314

Now,

Arrange Apple filling over the baked tarts. Cover the top with the dough ( design it as per your choice).

Bake again for 10 mins or till the top turns golden. Take them out and let them cool down for good 2-3 hours.

IMG_20170508_234306

Your Classic Apple PieΒ is ready. Savor them hot along with chilled vanilla icecream.

IMG_20170509_094127

Preparing classic vintage stuff from my Mom’s favorite fruit is a next level feel. I hope shez gonna love it wherever she is.

happy-mothers-day-wallpapers-HD5

Image cc: wallpapermonkey

Love you Ma….Always & Forever!!

For more discussions on various cuisines –

Join my Facebook Food group – From the diaries of great cooks!Β 

Capture

Bon appetit!

For more exclusive Mother’s day recipes check out at: Mayuri Jikoni

IMG_5789

I am sharing this recipe for Angies Fiesta Friday Party wherein my cohosts for this week areΒ Jhuls @ The Not So Creative Cook and Su @ Su’s Healthy Living.Β 

17 thoughts on “Classic Apple Pie – Stars in the galaxy!

  1. What a beautiful post Kriti — so well written. The pain of losing mom is something inexplicable. I’m sure your mom is watching over you from wherever she is. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kriti after reading your post and knowing that you lost your mum when you were very young, I now remember you when saddness fills me and I thank God I had more time with my mum. Thank you so much for participating. Love the cute stars on the pie. Am sure your mum must be smiling where ever she is and thinking what a fine woman you have grown up to be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

