Berry Cake with Lemon Drizzle

Its a long time… Since I baked, since I cooked delicacies…since I got myself devoted to my kitchen.. Don’t know what has happened to me… Perhaps the North Indian summer heat.. .Perhaps the side effects of a new job.. or Perhaps the lot of things cropping up haphazardly or perhaps the lazy monster which stays inside me… Don’t know how to deal with it.. Don’t know how to move forward… It’s all about life and I am sure these kinds of breaks do come and go.. πŸ™‚

IMG_20180219_181515_copy

This time our Foodie Monday Bloghop theme was Cakes and I being a die hard baker ( people do say so) and love to experiment, how can I leave this opportunity to bake and that too a cake? πŸ˜€ Since Berries are always with me either in the fresh form or frozen, hereby I present my Berry Cake with Lemon Drizzle.

The tangy berry flavors + sour lemon taste does give this cake its much required deliciousness… but yes a little more sugar in the same… does make it a complete platter to munch on. πŸ™‚

Let’s have a look on the recipe.

IMG_20180219_181452_copy

Berry Cake with Lemon Drizzle

Preparation time: 10 mins

Baking time: 35 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup thick curd
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 tsp
  • Frozen berries – strawberry & blueberry
  • For lemon drizzle – 1/2 cup lemon juice + 3/4 cup sugar + 3/4 cup water

Recipe

  • Sieve the flour, baking powder and baking soda keep it aside.
  • Whisk oil and sugar till mixed. Add the curd,lemon juice & vanilla extract. Mix well.
  • Add half the flour and fold in gently followed with the other half.Mix lightly
  • Sprinkle some flour on the berries and coat them well. Gently fold half of the berries into the batter.
  • Pour the prepared batter into pre-prepared baking tin and sprinkle the other half of the berries on the top.
  • Bake at 170 deg C for 35 minutes.
  • Now prepare the lemon drizzle by using the above ingredients. Spread it well across the cake.
  • The tangy yet delish flavor of the drizzle will give your taste buds the delightful after taste.

IMG_20180219_181452_copy

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Berry Cake with Lemon Drizzle

  1. Wonderful bake. Whenever I go to Montreal have to bake a blueberry and lemon cake for my son as he loves. However, it hasn’t reached my blog as yet. Hot summers make all of us lazy. It will pass.

    Like

Leave a comment