Lotus Stem Kofta in Silky Gravy

My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person, he believed in me ~ Jim Valvano

Father and Daughter Playing Together at the Beach at Sunset

Image cc: Google

Remembering those mornings, when I use to wake up and directly go to the kitchen as I knew papa must be waiting for his tea while reading the newspaper in the garden…The morning tea was a ritual as it needs to be perfect with hints of ginger and cardamon… With the tea, our long discussions used to happen…discussions about life, about happiness, about moments, about studies, about aspirations etc etc. πŸ™‚

father-son

Image cc: Google

For me, my papa is my guardian angel whom I trust blindly and love most…He is the one who made me, who believes in me, who guides me, inspires me, loves me and most importantly trust me… I belong to a nuclear family with both ma and papa working…Ma ( being a teacher) had hectic schedule which used to start early morning and I being a new born needed all the love and care… At that moment of time, papa took the front seat and the papa beti saga began πŸ™‚ … He used to drop mum at her school at 6:30 am and then I use to stay with him in his clinic (he is a doctor) for good 5-6 hours till the time ma used to come back and take me home.. πŸ™‚ He being a doctor had the most busy schedule yet he always made sure that I am well attended and well cared for…His whole bunch of patients knew me and loved me… From an infant of 6 months to a toddler to a kid to an adolescent to a woman… Here I am…A confident and sound minded papa’s daughter πŸ™‚

o-FATHER-DAUGHTER-facebook

Image cc: Google

This Father’s day I am dedicating this simple yet royal recipe of Lotus Stem Koftas in Silky Gravy to my papa. πŸ™‚ He being a simple man always love simple food but with multiple flavors… Papa, m sure you will love this recipe…Will cook once I will be home next weekend πŸ™‚

lotus-root

Serves: 2

Preparation time: 15 mins

Cooking time: 20 mins

IMG_9653

Ingredients

  • 1 lotus stemFor Koftas
  • 2 tbsp Gram flour
  • 1 tsp Red Chili powder
  • 1 tsp Coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1/2 tsp Coriander leaves
  • Salt as per taste
  • Oil to fryFor gravy
  • 2 Medium sized onion
  • 1/2 inch ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 green cardamons
  • 3-4 cloves
  • 3-4 peppercorns
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 1 cup creamFor chilli oil
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp red chilli powder

IMG_9661


Method

  • Take 5-6 round slices of the lotus stem and grate rest of it completely
  • Mix all the ingredients of the Koftas and the grated lotus stem. Roll out 10-12 balls out of it and fry well till golden brown. Keep it aside
  • Fry the slices of the lotus stem (for garnishing) and keep aside
  • Now, for gravy, Put water on boil
  • Once it is boiled, add all the ingredients of the gravy except butter
  • Let the ingredients boil well till water is reduced to 1/3rd
  • Let the mixture cool down. Once it is cooled, grind well
  • Now in a pan, heat butter and add cream
  • Add the onion mixture into it and mix well
  • Fry the mixture well and simmer for 10 mins
  • Once done, add Kofta balls into it
  • Arrange it well in the serving platter
  • For chili oil, heat butter in a tadka spoon and add red chili powder over it. Let it cool down. Chili oil is ready
  • Garnish with Chili oil, fried stem slices and mint leaves
  • Serve hot with Chapatis

This gravy is one of a perfect delight for your gorgeous evenings. Innovative and simple, this unique recipe will take you on an heavenly gastronomic trip. πŸ™‚

IMG_9649

 

Bon appetit!

IMG_9645

Join my Facebook Food group – From the diaries of Great Cooks!

Capture

Recipe inspired by Book: Hymns of the Soil by Chef Vikas Khanna

Disclaimer: All the images of this blog belongs to Krispy Kadhai. Any plagiarism will not be tolerated

Check out the amazingly prepared Father’s Day recipes from my fellow bloggers – πŸ™‚

Meat-masala-bharwa-baingan by Avin Kohli

Masala Upma by Nivedita

Sweet Vermicelli with Jaggery by Mina Joshi

Sugar free Mango, Basil and Cashew Yogurt Popsicle by Jagruti

Mishti Doi by Sujata Roy

Β 
GhariΒ Rotli-Puran Poli – Mayuri’sΒ JikoniΒ – Mains
Please visit Jagruti’sΒ collection of 50 recipes for fathers’s day for all the amazing 50 recipes.Β 

4 thoughts on “Lotus Stem Kofta in Silky Gravy

Leave a comment