Namak Paare – A perfect treat this Diwali!

Come Diwali and whole family unites together to celebrate this eternal festival of lights and love. People from all age group, city, region come together to enjoy this beautiful and one of the most elaborated festival of India. ๐Ÿ™‚ All the family start the preparations days before…Cleaning, Dusting, Decorating and Preparing all the amazing snacks and pakwans to entertain the guests.

img_20161015_213523_copy

Moms and Grand moms start their preparations and daily new delicacies are prepared like – Besan k sev, Besan k ladoo, Kur k samose, Mathri, NamakPaare, Shakar Paare, Moong ki daal ka halwa etc. When my grand mom was there, we knew that before diwali, kitchen shelves will be piled up with amazing dishes which we kids will be able to munch on for almost 15 days post Diwali.

img_20161015_213913_copy

This time I decide to re-create a bit of that grandmom’s magic in my kitchen and I decided to try Namakpaare. Since it was for the first time I was going to cook, I was little doubtful and thus gave a call to my mom who guided me to the intricacies of this dish and it was prepared well finally. ๐Ÿ™‚

img_20161015_214108_copy

Some recipes are loved in their original format only without any mix match or so. Isn’t it? Especially the heirloom recipes which connects you to the deep roots of your family. Therefore without adding any xyz ingredient of my own, I prepared it as per my Dadi’s recipe only. Let’s have a look! ๐Ÿ™‚

img_20161015_214117_copy

Preparation time: 15 mins

Cooking time: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups All purpose flour – Maida
  • 1 tbsp Carom seeds – Ajwain
  • 2 tbsp Warm oil
  • 1 cup warm water
  • Salt as per taste
  • Oil for deep frying

Method

  • Mix APF + Carom seeds + Salt well.
  • Add warm oil and mix it well. It will act as a Moyen which will keep the dish soft from inside.
  • Now take very small amount of water and start kneading the dough.
  • It should be a hard yet smooth dough. [ Simply dip your fingers in the water and keep kneading it. ]
  • Let it rest for 5 mins.
  • Now divide it into 3 balls and roll them well. Keep them covered with moist cloth.
  • Cut them as per the shapes you want. I prefer diamond shapes so I cut them accordingly.

  • Heat the oil .
  • Fry them in batches.
  • Once fried, let them rest for 5 mins so that they get crisp.
  • Store them well in Air – tight container.

This recipe I am dedicating to our 61st FoodieMonday Bloghop wherein our theme for this week is #DiwaliTreats – Savouries.

img_20161015_214201_copy

This recipe I am dedicating to Angies Fiesta Friday wherein my co-hosts for this week are –ย  Julianna @ Foodie on Board and Zeba @ Food For The Soul.

Wish you all a Very Very Happy Diwali from Krispy Kadhai!ย 

Join my Facebook Food group here to participate in amazing Diwali contest.

From the diaries of great cooks!

capture

8 thoughts on “Namak Paare – A perfect treat this Diwali!

  1. A trip down memory lane Kriti. I use to make dhabba fulls of this savoury when the kids were at home. Thanks for reminding me about savoury namak paare, will make them for the wedding guests.

    Like

Leave a Reply

