Sabudana Cutlets

Sabudana cutlets is a dish very common to all the states of India. Almost prepared in a similar manner all across, these cutlets are consumed mostly during the fasts or any other religious function.

img_20161009_124056_copy

Prepared using Sago pearls, it is one beautiful dish which every person loves.

14599838_10154550191979820_248558743_o

I was introduced to this dish almost 8 years ago by my then “Future Mom-in-law” :D. Yes. These Sabudana cutlets hold a very beautiful memory of my life. I was in college and me and Abhishek, both were college mates as well as from the same city. He used to visit my home often during vacations and the best treat was something or other cooked by his Mom.. πŸ™‚ As we (His mom and me) share mutual love for cooking so life was sorted. One day he brought these crispy beautiful cutlets and I was like –

Kriti: Woo…what’s this?
Abhishek: Sabudana k cutlets
Kriti: Kaise bante hain…
Reply was as usual Β πŸ˜€
Abhishek: Pata nahi!

Hahahahaha.. Yes this is our life. I am over passionate for cooking while my husband has simply no interest in cooking or eating. Pheew!!!!Β Can you guys believe what’s his favorite dish is ? Its – Plain Rice with Plain Curd.Β (Complete silence) And till date I wonder – How can someone eat without any flavors,not even salt … Anyways – His Life. His Way! πŸ˜€

So that was the day when I fell in love with these cutlets and now it has become a ritual at my home also to prepare it at least once a month. πŸ™‚

img_20161009_124552_copy

Let’s have a look on the recipe:

Serves: 4 Β [Makes 16 pieces]

Preparation time: 10 mins

Cooking time: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Sabudana [ Soaked overnight and drained]
  • 3 medium sized boiled potatoes
  • 1/2 cup fried peanuts
  • 1 tsp finely chopped ginger
  • 1 cup finely chopped coriander leaves
  • 4 tbsp Buckwheat flour [ Kuttu ka atta]
  • 2 tbsp Lemon juice
  • Grounded Black pepper – As per taste
  • Red chilli powder Β – As per taste
  • Salt
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 1 small bowl water

Method

  • Take cleaned, Soaked and drained Sabudana in a big bowl.
  • Grate potatoes over it.
  • Break the peanuts in a chopper and add it to the mixture.
  • Add all the elements except cornflour and water.
  • Now mix really well and make desired size cutlets out of it.
  • Let the cutlets rest in freezer for 5 mins.
  • Keep oil for heating over the flames.
  • Mix cornflour and water together.
  • Now take out the cutlets. Dip them in cornflour one by one and fry till golden.
  • Serve with your favorite chutney. πŸ™‚

img_20161009_124443_copy

You can easily eat this recipes during your fasts, non-fast days. Simply replace salt with Sendha Namak while on fasting! πŸ™‚

img_20161009_124408_copy

This recipe I am dedicating to my 61st #FoodieMonday Bloghop wherein our theme for this week was – #NavratriRecipes

IMG-20160601-WA0002_copy

Join me on my Food Group to discuss more and explore the World of Amazing Home cooks and Chefs. πŸ™‚ –Β From The Diaries Of Great Cooks

capture

This recipe I am submitting for Angies Fiesta Friday wherein my co-hosts for this week are: Julie @ Hostess at Heart and Linda @ Fabulous Fare Sisters

capture

13 thoughts on “Sabudana Cutlets

Leave a Reply

