Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Red Velvet Cake? What’s that? Is it some dessert with a velvety touch or is it someway covered with velvet cloth? Sorry.. I am still unable to relate velvet and cake… Oops!

Yes…These were few of my reactions when I first came to know about this, lovely round little chap, through a friend 2 years back. I was used to traditional flavors like truffles, black forest, pineapple, strawberry etc.. But Red Velvet Cake came as a sheer surprise for me… When I saw this beauty for the first time.. I was awe-struck… It was looking darn beautiful and it’s refreshing flavor of cream-cheese carried me away… ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20160515_092755_copy

I was planning to prepare it since long but deep down in my mind there was a little hesitation as I was not confident about using cream cheese just like professionals… Nevertheless the moment came when my hubby gifted me a new OTG and I decided to inaugurate it by baking a cake…
Now which cake? Let me try a Red Velvet Cheese Cake.. My mind gathered the courage and I was ready to take it forward… ๐Ÿ™‚ This is not a picture pefect cake today as it was all prepared in lot of jiffy.. But on my next try, definitely it will be a beauty! ๐Ÿ™‚

I googled various recipes but the best and easiest one for me were from my bestie – Trupti from My Culinary Sagaย and the greatย Jamie Oliverย … ย I took inspiration from both of them and created my version of Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting. Let’s have a look on the recipe –

Serves: 6 people ( 1/2 kg cake)

Preparation time: 10 mins

Baking time: 40 mins

Temp: 150 degrees convection mode

Main Utensils needed:ย Deep bowls 2, Spatula, Spoons, Blender, OTG or Microwave with convection mode or Gas Oven

Ingredients

For the Cake –

  • 1 cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1.5 tbsp Unsweeted Cocoa Powder ( Hersheys ย brand)
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup Castor Sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 cup Buttermilk
  • 3 tbsp Red coloring gel
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Vinegar

For the Frosting –ย 

  • 150 gms Cream Cheese ( I used Mooz brand)
  • 50 gms Unsalted Butter
  • 4 tbsp Icing sugar

Notes

  • All the ingredients should be at Room Temperature.
  • Castor sugar adds extra texture to the cake. In case it’s not present, you can grind your normal sugar to fine chunks.
  • Combination of Vinegar and Buttermilk along with cocoa brings out the color of the cake in the most exotic way and also gives it a soft velvety touch.

_20160515_192306_copy

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and grease / prepare you cake tin.
  • Sift APF, Cocoa, Salt and Baking powder together. Keep it aside.
  • Blend butter to a fine smooth texture. Add castor sugar and blend it again. Add the egg and mix it well in the same.
  • Take buttermilk. Add vanilla extract and gel color into it. Mix it well.
  • Divide your flour mixture into 3 parts. Fold it into butter mixtureย eventually. Make sure it is mixed well.
  • Add buttermilk mixture.
  • In the vinegar add baking soda and pour the mixture into the cake batter.
  • Your cake batter has to be thick and not runny. If you feel that it’s too runny…gather your confidence and feel free to add a tablespoon of All Purpose flour and cocoa powder. I agree that measurements should be proper but little bit of trial and error should be there.. Isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ I added an extra spoon of APF at this step as I found my batter little runny.
  • Now pour the batter into the cake tin and let it bake for 30 mins. After 30 mins, do the toothpick test and if undone.. bake it for another 15 minutes.
  • Do put an aluminium foil over the cake to prevent the burning of the top.
  • And it’s ready! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Take it out and let it rest on the wirerack for 10 mins. Unmould it and let it cool for next 20 mins.Now it’s time for preparing the frosting.
  • Whisk the butter, cream cheese and icing sugar together at medium speed for max 5 minutes.
  • Frosting is ready.
  • Now spread it on the cake as it is or use it with piping bag… It’s upto you… Go ahead and experiment.. Bring out your favorite flavor and it’s beauty! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Let the cake chill in the fridge for at least 30 mins before serving.

IMG_20160515_003441_copy

To know more about the chemistry of ingredients of this cake check – GizModo

Guys, do share your feedback on the recipe here in comments.

For more fun filled discussions about cuisines and food all over letโ€™s connect on my Facebook group โ€“ย https://www.facebook.com/groups/FromTheDiariesOfGreatCooks/

I love to present this recipe for Angie’s Fiesta Fridayย along withย Ahila @ A Taste of Sri Lankan Cuisine and Diann @ Of Goats and Greens

26 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I’m curious — what is an OTG? I’m glad you are enjoying it! I have to say I’ve never eaten a slice of red velvet cake — only became aware of them a year or so ago. But this looks very moist and delicate, and I love cream cheese icings over most other choices. Thanks for sharing at the Fiesta!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey… thanks for stopping by.. ๐Ÿ™‚ OTG aka Oven Toaster and Griller… Appliance for baking cakes and stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ …I am sure you must be familiar with it… Cream cheese frosting I love…It has a very distinctive flavor ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Kriti, your red velvet cake looks great. I did go through a fun red velvet baking phase, especially trying to get the ‘red’ in the red velvet without food colouring. Thanks for bringing it to the fiesta! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Red Velvet looks tempting , I have never tried , thought beet root is in the recipe ,but No i , it is red colour Some people do not it like coloring , but any way I want to try , just a Question ?Buttermilk is yougurt and water how is the ratio of this , please clarify , thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kavita… People often use beetroot juice as well and it comes out beautifully… Due to absence of beetroots I used gel color… ๐Ÿ™‚ Buttermilk is 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 cup water. ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to pour in more queries!!

      Like

  4. Hi I did use ur recipe n it’s a keeper…was extremely pleased with the results…my friends loved it..
    Just a query how to avoid the frosting from the being runny?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Simi. ๐Ÿ™‚ To avoid a runny frosting – You may add some icing sugar in the cream cheese while whipping it. Also please make sure to whip in a cool enviornment. The whipping blades and utensils should also be kept in the freezer for atleast 30 mins before using. It will help! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

