Custard Sewai – By Tribeni Pegu

A dessert that synonymously relates to my childhood days is sweet sewai or vermicelli. I still remember how Maa used to make sweet sewai for the rest of the family members almost once in every week or whenever there are guests at home. However, I have learnt this custard sewai recipe from my Aunty (BFF’s mom) during my stay in a rent out flat. We were lucky that parents use to visit us now and then.

custardsewai_sub2

One day she made fruit custard which I was very much eager to eat. The biggest surprise was when she offered me the fruit custard; I also saw sewai or vermicelli in the custard. It was a big surprise for me. May be it was very much out there but for me as a newbie in the cooking department, it amazed me. Well this custard recipe minus the fruits is an inspiration from aunty to give it a try once.

Serves: 2

Preparation time: 5 mins

Cooking time: 40 mins

Ingredients:

1 cup vermicelli (Normal not roasted)

½ ltr milk

1 cup sugar

10 almonds and cashew nuts each (Divide into halves)

2 tbsp. custard powder (I have used vanilla flavor)

1 tsp. vanilla essence

Method:

  1. In a deep vessel just roast the sewai or vermicelli for 5 mins on medium flame. If the vermicelli is already roasted, then still you can roast it for 2-3 mins. Once done transfer the sewai from the vessel into a bowl and let it rest.
  2. In the same vessel pour the milk and let it boil for at least 10 minutes.
  3. Now add the roasted vermicelli into the milk, mix it well and let it cook again for 10 mins until the sewai starts bubbling. Lower the flame.
  4. Then add the dry fruits and let is cook for 2-3 mins. Keep few for topping.
  5. Add the sugar and vanilla essence into the sewai mixture and mix them well and cook it for 2 mins.
  6. Time to make the custard solution. If you add the custard powder directly into the sewai, it might create lumps so it is better to mix the powder with 2 tbsp. of cold milk so that it forms a solution.
  7. The final ingredient is to add the above custard solution to the sewai and while pouring the solution stir the sewai continuously.
  8. Let the custard sewai simmer for 4-5 mins and it will be ready to be served warm. Or let it chill in the fridge for 30 mins and have it chilled with toppings of dry fruits.

Tips: You can use fresh fruits instead of dry fruits to retain the original taste of fruit custard. Also try different custard flavor as per your choice.

Now some chit chats with you –

What I like about KrispyKadhai?

I am in love with the name because whenever I say it, I just feel something crispy in my mouth. The freshness of the ingredients used in all the recipes makes me drool and greedy to cook. If you want to cook anything across the globe as well as Indian (specifically North-Indian Street Food), this is the platform that will take you on an easy cooking class for your menu needs. Hurry up its winter and don’t you like spicy Aloo Chat?! Slurp slurp!! 🙂

Guest Blogging Experience

Now, coming back to this wonderful opportunity as a guest blogger, I would like to express my tons of thanks to Krispy Kadhai aka Kriti who is an amazing home chef. My first guest blogging experience :). Being a member of her Facebook group From the diaries of great cooks”, challenged me to be innovative in what I cook and also I learned new dishes every day from my fellow home made chefs.
To be the first “Chef of the Week” was very surprising and also I was very happy thinking that I will get the opportunity to share cuisines and cultures of  my very own North-East.

About Me: 

Durtribenipeguing my teenage I used to cook basic dishes like egg curry, chicken curry or sour fish curry for family members or sometimes for guests. Never realized then that I will be cooking for the rest of my life with my whole heart. Friends used to ask for recipes but then I did not have written down recipes, everything was in my little head. Many a times I used to share it on whatsapp or via email once I write it down for them. So this is how I came up with my baby blog “The Nom Nom Lady”. 🙂 My recipes are simple with little bit of twist here and there since I am also a rookie chef in this matter who lives to eat. Do visit my blog to say hi! 🙂

Until next time!

Love ❤

The Nom Nom Lady

tea-festival-assam-tourist-spots

Image cc: Google

2 thoughts on “Custard Sewai – By Tribeni Pegu

Leave a Reply

